## FACULTY COUNCIL

## Minutes

May 3, 2024

## 11:10-1:10 pm via Zoom

In Attendance: Vennila Krishnan (PT) (Chair), David Powell (PPA) (Co-Chair), Laura D'Anna (HSC), Nathan Gerard (HCA), Shriya Basu (SLP), Christine Kleinpeter (SW), Becky Nash (CCJEM), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Melissa Dyo for Lucy Van Otterloo (NUR), Alison Ede (KIN), Chung Sup Lee (RLS), Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS)

Absent: Dean Lounsbery (CHHS) and Saniya Debose (CHHS ASI Senator)

Guests: Pei-Fang Hung (CHHS Senate), AJ Jadalla (RTP Chair), Maria Carpiac (Professional Leave Committee Chair) and Michelle Barrack (Research Committee Chair)

The meeting was called to order.
Approval of the Agenda
The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous).
Approval of the Minutes
The minutes from the April 12, 2024, Faculty Council meeting were approved (Passed: Unanimous).
Dean's Report – No Report
In lieu of the Dean's Report the council discussed the results of the Minimum Workload Policy straw poll.
Grace shared that it is at the Dean's discretion to implement the minimum workload policy, no formal vote is required. The council shared their concerns and requested that there be an opportunity for those who voted "No" to provided feedback as to why they are not favor of adopting this policy. The council agreed that the following would help with the adoption of the policy and increase trust among the faculty.
<ul> <li>Sharing the straw poll results</li> <li>Slowing down the implementation process</li> <li>Increasing trust among the faculty</li> <li>Provide an opportunity for feedback</li> </ul>

expected results), how the project falls outside the normal duties of the applicant.

2. College RTP committee -- AJ Jadalla

AJ shared with the council her report which included the number of RTP files the committee reviewed. She shared the process of reviewing the files and provided recommendations for what future committee members can do to improve the review process for faculty undergoing review. (The complete report can be found <u>here</u>).

3. Research Committee - Michelle Barrack

Michelle provided a PowerPoint presentation which included an overview of the committees work the past academic year. Sharing the competition deadlines, and how the applications were reviewed for approval. She also provided some of the challenges the committee faced and future recommendations.

## 11:42 am Subcommittee Reports

- A. RSCA/ Core Lab Committee (Becky Nash (Chair), Chung Sup Lee, Alison Ede, Vennila Krishnan and Grace Reynolds-Fisher) – no update.
- B. Social Justice and CHHS Constitution (Anita Fitzgerald/ Lucy VanOtterloo, Laura D'Anna) – The revisions to the CHHS Constitution have been completed and should be sent out to faculty to vote and finalization.

Meeting adjourned at 1:15 p.m.

Meeting Minutes submitted by Nancy Espinosa