## FACULTY COUNCIL

## Minutes

## November 3, 2017

11:00-12:30 pm in ET-235

In Attendance: Robert Shug (OCLEM), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Sandhya Shimoga (HCA), Fiona Gorman (HSC), Alison Ede (KIN), Anita Fitzgerald (NRSG), Vennila Krishnan (PT), Ed Martin (PPA, via Skype), Nancy Zhao (RLS), Yolanda Green (SW), Alaine Ocampo (SLP), Dean Monica Lounsbery (CHHS), Courtney Yamagiwa (AS Student Representative)

Absent: Tiffanye Vargas (KIN), Beth Keely (NRSG), Keith Fulthorp (RLS), Terry Robertson (CHHS)

Guests: Christine Scott-Hayward (Academic Senate), Kerry Johnson (AVP for Undergraduate Studies), Tracey Mayfield (Library)

- I. The meeting was called to order at 11:15am
- II. Approval of the agenda

The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous)

III. Approval of the minutes

The minutes from the Faculty Council meeting on October 6, 2017 were approved

(Passes: Unanimous)

## IV. Academic Senate Report Christine Scott-Hayward

The recent Academic Senate meeting included a discussion on the policy on nepotism and whether this policy should be reviewed by individual college faculty councils. The recommendation was for the policy to return to the committee it originated from for consultation with legal counsel before it can be addressed further. Also on the agenda

Fall 2017

is the policy on employment of graduate assistants. Our AS representatives will send out a document via email regarding these policies. Lastly, there has been some concern that CHHS has been underrepresented at the Academic Senate because representation on the Senate for each college is allocated based on the number of tenured/tenure-track faculty, not on the number of students served. The college will be making some efforts over the next couple of months to strategize how to increase our representation on the Senate.

V. The Dean

The Dean did not provide a report but asked that if the Faculty Council had any specific questions to let her know after the time certain guests present at this meeting.

VI. Time Certain 11:25am Dr. Kerry Johnson, AVP for Undergraduate Studies
Dr. Kerry Johnson is the new Associate Vice President for Undergraduate Studies who

GE and College Readiness, as well as advising, tutoring, the honors program, and the Long Beach College Promise. Dr. Johnson and her staff have been working hard on EO 1100 regarding GE and are very aware there are highly structured majors that are impacted by these changes. There is currently a moratorium on reviewing all new GE courses in order to first address only relevant early start and capstone courses in category F and how to recertify those courses. Right now they are gathering information from all colleges on the impact of EO 1100 and coming up with a strategy. They are also looking at revising the GWAR processes as well. Please reach out to the Associate Deans topic.

VII. Faculty Affairs Project Tracey Mayfield (for Mark Wiley)

Tracey Mayfield is the Associate Dean of the Library on special assignment in Academic Affairs for both Mark Wiley and Jody Cormack to revamp the Faculty Development Center. The current director of the center, Terre Allen, will be retiring this year. The center has moved at least three times in the recent past as well. Tracey has been tasked with finding out what faculty would like to see in the new center. Although there has been much research on this topic, the success of the center is very campus-centric and should be focused on what our individual faculty want. The discussion was opened to the Faculty Council members to comment on what they might envision for the center. Comments included a place for faculty to collaborate and meet, to provide workshops (grant writing, etc.), to offer peer review or advice on different issues faculty may have on a one-on-one basis. Tracey asked that the Faculty Council members go back to their departments to ask the same question of their faculty and report back to her and Mark with responses.

VIII. Old Business reminder handout

The reminder handout was passed out to Faculty Council members and there were no questions.

IX. New Business CHHS Research Committee (Michelle Barrack)

The current Research Committee is composed of four faculty members. These current members have a desire to expand the current committee because there is a very large amount of proposals to review. The plan is to expand the committee this year to include